Ray Charles / Crying Time (US, ABC-Paramount, ABC 544) <February 1966>


Ray Charles / Crying Time (US, ABC-Paramount, ABC 544) <February 1966>

(Side 1) ABC 544 A1
(Side 2) ABC 544 B3

Ray Charles – piano, vocals
Billy Preston – electric organ on "No Use Crying", "Let's Go Get Stoned"[3]
The Raelettes – chorlus
Joe Adams – producer

"Crying Time" is a studio album by Ray Charles released in February 1966 as the first release on his label Tangerine, which was distributed by ABC Paramount.

Charles' version of "Crying Time" won two Grammy Awards in 1967, in the categories Best R&B Recording and Best R&B Solo Performance.

Track listing
LP side A
"Crying Time" (Buck Owens) – 2:57
"No Use Crying" (Roy Gaines, Freddie Lee Kober, J.B. Daniels) – 3:17
"Let's Go Get Stoned" (Valerie Simpson, Nickolas Ashford, Jo Armstead) – 3:00
"Going Down Slow" (Jimmy Oden) – 4:03
"Peace of Mind" (Ray Charles, J. Holiday) – 2:14
"Tears" (Norman Newell, Robert Maxwell) – 4:38

LP side B
"Drifting Blues" (Johnny Moore, Eddie Williams, Charles Brown) – 6:24
"We Don't See Eye to Eye" (Percy Mayfield) – 2:21
"You're In For a Big Surprise" (Percy Mayfield) – 3:35
"You're Just About to Lose Your Clown" (Johnny MacRae) – 2:01
"Don't You Think I Ought To Know" (William Johnson, Melvin Wettergreen) – 3:05
"You've Got a Problem" (William D. Weeks, Freddy James) – 3:28