Chicago 26


Many Chicago fans had been really looking forward to having their whole brand-new studio recording album for a long time since their famous 22nd album "Stone Of Sisyphus" became unreleased. On this live album released in 1999, we can listen to 3 new studio recording tracks, "Back To You", "If I Should Ever Lose You" written by Burt Bacharach, and "(Your Love Keeps Lifting Me) Higher and Higher" known for Jackie Wilson's 68 version. I believed they could do make their original new studio recording full album only if they would have stopped touring for a while, because Bill Champlin, Jason Scheff and Robert Lamm made really excellent solo albums during 1990's as a matter of fact. However, the reality was very different. We were obliged to wait until 2006 when Chicago XXX was released. Compared to Toto, they were very disappointed in this regard, maybe because of unwillingness of the original band members, I am afraid. And I was also disappointed lack of Chicago's post-1984 songs on this album.

Release: 12 October, 1999
Label : Chicago Records, USA (CRD 3026)

1. The Ballet
2. Make Me Smile
3. So Much To Say, So Much To Give
4. Anxiety's Moment
5. West Virginia Fantasies
6. Colour My World
7. To Be Free
8. Now More Than Ever
9. (I've Been) Searchin' So Long
10. Mongonucleosis
11. Hard Habit To Break
12. Call On Me
13. Feelin' Stronger Every Day
14. Just You 'n' Me
15. Beginnings
16. Hard To Say I'm Sorry / Get Away
17. 25 or 6 to 4
18. Back To You
19. If I Should Ever Lose You
20. (Your Love Keeps Lifting Me) Higher and Higher

Producers: Marvin Warren and Roy Bittan (New Studio Recording Tracks only)

Walt Parazider: Woodwinds
Lee Loughnane: Trumpet
James Pankow: Trombone
Tris Imboden: Drums
Robert Lamm: Keyboards/Guitars/Vocals
Jason Scheff: Bass/Vocals
Keith Howland: Guitars/Vocals
Bill Champlin: Guitars/Keyboards/Vocals

- Musicians -
Michael McDonald : Lead Vocals on "Higher & Higher"