David Lasley / Soldiers On The Moon


David Lasley released his third solo album towards the Japanese market in 1989 under the new label of those days called as "Pacific Coast Highway" under Pony Canyon, Japan. This albums starts from the Carole King's famous song "It's Too Late" and ends to Randy Newman's song "I Think It's Going To Rain Today". This album includes 8 cover tunes, which would prove how David could sing beautifully. Supporting musicians should be written for the museum visitors; Jeff Porcaro (drums), David Benoit (piano), Greg Karukas (Key), Abe Laboriel (bass), Marty Walsh (Guitar), Rita Coolidge (Back Vo) and Luther Vandross (Back Vo).

Release: 21 October, 1989 (Japan) / 30 August, 1990 (USA)
Label: Pacific Coast Highway - Pony Canyon, Japan (PCCY-00010) /
Agenda Records, USA(4700-2-Z)

1. It's Too Late
2. Soldiers On The Moon
3. Audrey
4. You Bring Me Joy
5. Warm As The Wind
6. Give My Heart Back To Me
7. Without The One You Love
8. Roslyn
9. Since I Fell For You
10. God Bless The Child
11. I Think It's Going To Rain Today

Bonus Track(s) added to Reissued CD(s):
Cool Sound, Inc. Japan (COOL-042 released on 10 July, 2000)
12. Soldiers On The Moon (Low Voice Version)
13. It's Too Late (Alternate Take)
14. Warm As The Wind (Alternate Take)
15.Without The One You Love (Alternate Take)
16.This Is Real (Unreleased)

Producers: Jeffrey Weber
- Musicians -
Guitar : Bob Mann, Marty Walsh
Keyboards : David Benoit, Greg Karukas
Bass : Abe Laboriel
Drums : Jeff Porcaro
Percussion : Luis Conte
Sax : Joel Peskin
Background Vocals : Luther Vandross, Arnold McCuller, Carmen Twille, Lynn Pitney, Fred White, Charlotte Crossley