Past To Present - The 70’s


This is an album featuring quite valuable materials recorded by Graydon and Co. in 1970’s. All songs on the album are transferred from analog masters into a digital masterpiece of quality music for this release. The album is titled as "Past to Present - the 70s -" featuring Jay Graydon on vocals, guitars, bass and some synth stuff. It also features great singers such as Bill Champlin, Marc Jordan, Tata Vega, Lisa DalBello, Ed Whiting and more. On all tracks other musicians include such top names as David Foster, Jeff Porcaro, Mike Baird, David Hungate, Mike Porcaro, Greg Mathieson, to name a few. Apart from the 10 main songs, there are 10 more bonus tracks - fun stuff like TV themes, a jingle, and a few instrumental tracks of some of the first 10 songs. The first track is the demo version "If There's A Way" featuring Jay's lead vocal, later recorded by Waters on the group's second album "Waters" in 1977. Jay's melody line guitar part for this track is very impressive as same as Water's version. This must be one of typical good Graydon's tunes."What Good Is Love" early demo version sung by Bill Champlin himself follows and as you know this song was re-recorded by Bill for his acclaimed solo album "Single". Next is "You Can Count On Me" with solid melody, sweet chord changes and Jay's sweet vocal.It is not well-known that this beautiful song was recorded by Cory Wells only for 45rpm single.The fourth track "You're My Day" is also recorded by Cory Wells which appeared on his 1st solo album "Touch Me" in 1978. Lisa Dal Bello takes lead instead on this demo version, more disco song of the era. Early demo versions of the legendary Airplay are also included; "Should We Carry On" and "She Waits For Me". Marc Jordan vocal demo version "Secret Lovers",written for Japanese female singer Mariya Takeuchi, is worth listening. "Throw A Little Bit Of Love" demo with Ed Whiting were recorded by many artists later such as Cory Wells and Stevie Woods. "I Fall In Love Every Day" demo with Tata Vega on this CD is also known for Jaye P. Morgan version. Among 10 bonus tracks, "It's Right To Be In Love" should be remarked. This unreleased song is really great with Bill Champlin. "It's Right To Be In Love" instrumental version is added as another bonus track only for Japan.

Release: 2 March,2006 (USA) / 23 August, 2006 (Japan)
Label: Sonic Thrust Records, USA (STRCD-008) / Nexus - King Records, Japan (KICP 1176)

1. If There's A Way
2. What Good Is Love
3. You Can Count On Me
4. You're My Day
5. Shouls We Carry On
6. Secret Love
7. She Waits For Me
8. Throw A Little Bit Of Love Way
9. I Fall In Love Every Day
10. Love Flows
11. Love Flows (melody guide version)
12. Ted's Theme #2 (without Ted's Rap)
13. Ted's Theme #2 (with Ted's Rap)
14. Ted's Theme #1
15. Ted's Theme #1 (with Ted's Rap)
16. Ted's Theme #1 (only the tail of Ted's Rap)
17. Sony Jingle
18. If There's A Way (instrumental track)
19. What Good Is Love (instrumental track)
20. It's Right To be In Love* (instrumental track)
21. It's Right To be In Love

* Bonus Track for Japanese edition

Producers: David Foster, Jay Graydon

Jay Graydon: Guitar, Bass, Keyboards, Vocals

- Musicians -
Drums; Jeff Porcaro, Willy Omelas, Mike Baird, Ralph Humphrey
Bass: Dave McDaniel, David Hungate, Mike Porcaro, David Shields
Keyboards: Greg Mathieson, David Foster
Vocals: Bill Champlin, Lisa DalBello, Marc Jordan, Tata Vega, Ed Whiting, David Foster, Nettie Gloudm Carmen Twille